At the end of every three-month stay in the artist and scholarship house, the Kreisvolkshochschule Salzwedel offers every scholarship holder a forum within the framework of a so-called artist café to present themselves and their work to an audience. Due to the current measures to contain the corona pandemic, the artist café cannot take place as a face-to-face event on December 17, 2020 as originally planned and announced in the semester program of the district adult education center. Instead, the artist café will take place digitally as a cooperation between the friends’ association of the artist and scholarship house, the district adult education center and the Salzwedel Open Canal. On December 23, 2020, the artist café will be broadcast from midnight and then every three hours on the open channel.

Christine Hoba moved into the artist and scholarship house of the Altmarkkreis Salzwedel as a scholarship holder for the field of literature on October 1st, 2020. Her areas of work are poetry, prose and children’s literature. Christine Hoba was born in Magdeburg in 1961, but has lived in Halle since 1979. After studying chemistry, she trained as a bookseller and library assistant. Christine Hoba is a member of the Association for the Promotion of Writers of Saxony-Anhalt and of the Halleschen Dichterkreis. She has been a member of the PEN Center Germany since 2017.

At the digital artist café, Christine Hoba reads from her short story “The Garden”, with which she applied for the scholarship. In a small group, she then asks various questions and is ready for a dialogue. At the end of the digital artist café, the scholarship holder will present the novel “Weird Rain – An Autumn Night Confusion”, which she completed during her stay in Salzwedel.

After broadcasting on the Open Channel on December 23, 2020, the artist café will also be shown on the websites of the artist and scholarship house and the district adult education center.

Publications by Christine Hoba


Die metallenen Reste von Engeln – Poems 2001
Im Lufthaus – 80 Poems written between 1985 and 2005
Die Abwesenheit einer Nachforschung – novel 2006
Die Waldgängerinnen – novel 2010
Die Nelkenfalle – novel 2012
Der Ton der Glocken über dem Meer – story 2014