Künstler- und Stipendiatenhaus des Altmarkkreises Salzwedel


The association founded in 1998 to promote the scholarship-holders’ residence contributes significantly to the establishment of contacts with artists at home and abroad for the purpose of enriching the Altmark region’s artistic life, and endeavours to offer its own work-residencies and scholarships. By November 2017, a total of 41 artists had enjoyed residencies organized by the association.

The residencies of the artists are connected with high-profile activities such as exhibitions and readings, which are made accessible to an interested public. The Künstlercafé is a platform for artists to present their work to the public at the end of their stay. It has been initiated by the association as a networking initiative, and implemented in cooperation with the Adult Education Centre of Altmarkkreis Salzwedel. The artists also have the opportunity to exhibit in the gallery-areas of the museums in Altmarkkreis Salzwedel. Many of the exhibitions by the scholarship holders have contributed to attracting art lovers from all over Germany to the Altmark region, which demonstrates the growing acceptance and popularity of the artists’ and scholarship-holders’ residence in Salzwedel.

The association was founded by Christa-Maria Meyer-Püggen, who died in 2007. Born in Püggen, of “Püggensche Spinnstuw” fame, she worked hard throughout her life to promote art and culture in the Altmark region.

The new executive committee was elected at the general meeting on 17 May 2017:

[:de]Vorstand seit Mai 2017[:en]executive committee since may 2017[:]

 Charlotte Knappstein
Deputy: Vera Wibbeke
Secretary: Anja Kriszun
Treasurer: Inka Ludwig
Assessor: Cornelia Blödow
Assessor: Birgit Eurich
Assessor: Marlis Sommer
Representative of the district of Altmarkkreis Salzwedel: Simone Franz
Representative of the town of Salzwedel: Gabriele Gruner

Mitglied werden

Sie möchten Mitglied des Fördervereins werden?

Hier finden Sie den